Quarterdeck is a free quarterly e-journal-edited by George Jepson-for fans of historical fiction and covering news from McBooks Press and all other publishers, authors, and artists. Click here to see the latest issue, back issues, or to subscribe.

Publishing Schedule

The Sea Officer William Bentley Novels
The Bentley novels are gritty sea adventures with rich, compelling characters, vivid imagery, and unrelenting realism that plumbs the depths of human nature. This is the darker side of shipboard life in the Age of Sail.

See Details for Individual Series Books

3 Volumes
1. A Fine Boy for Killing 2. The Wicked Trade 3. The Spithead Nymph

Order Individual Series Books

"Painfully authentic portrayal of naval life in the eighteenth century. A powerful story of lost humanity, its violent emotions and unremitting bleakness are shattering." --Guardian
*Use 'Add Set to Cart' button to order either full or partial sets. Remove unwanted books, if any, from shopping cart before placing order. Trade paperbacks supplied whenever available. 30% discount applied to all orders.